Helmets & Catcher's Gear · The picks
Best batting helmets for tee ball
Tee ball is the one division where helmet sizing is genuinely hard, because most so-called youth helmets start at a 6 1/2 inch hat size and a four-year-old's head is smaller than that. Only a handful of helmets are made small enough. This page names them, with the makers' published size ranges rather than the age on the box.
By Mike M.Updated Sourced · gear tested by us: 0
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a pick. How we pick · Disclosure
Quick picks
The rankings at a glance
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Rawlings CoolFlo Max (Youth & T-Ball) Listed at $39.99 and the only helmet here sold in a genuine T-Ball size: Rawlings' CoolFlo tables put it at 6 1/4 to 6 7/8 inch. | Best tee ball batting helmetYouth and T-Ball sizes | 9.3 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 2 | ![]() Easton Z5 2.0 Matte Solid Listed at $34.95, and Easton prints the standard by name (NOCSAE ND022) plus the certified model codes. Junior starts at 6 1/2 inch. | Best budget certified helmetJunior 6 1/2–7 1/8 in; Senior 7 1/8–7 1/2 in; XL 7 1/2–8 in | 8.8 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 3 | ![]() Easton Z50 Matte Listed at $59.99. Easton publishes an exact hat-size range per shell, which makes buying online safer. Small/Medium is 6 1/2 to 7 1/8 inch. | Best documented sizingSmall/Medium 6 1/2–7 1/8, Medium/Large 7–7 5/8, XL 7 1/2–8 1/8 | 9.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 4 | ![]() Rawlings RX2 (Junior & Senior) Listed at $54.99 to $59.99. Rawlings states NOCSAE certification in this listing and the Junior/Senior sizes cover 8 to 18, so it is the next helmet rather than the first. | Best helmet to grow intoJunior and Senior sizes | 9.2 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
| 5 | ![]() Rawlings Velo Matte (Junior & Senior) Listed at $46.71. Sixteen vents and wrapped jaw pads, but Junior starts at 6 3/8 inch, so check the measurement first. | Best ventilationJunior (6 3/8–7 1/8 in) and Senior (6 7/8–7 5/8 in) | 8.9 /10 | Check price · Amazon |
#ad · Prices are set by Amazon and change often, so we don't print them. Scores are ours, built from the governing bodies' certification rules, the makers' sizing charts and published specs, not our own testing. Photos are illustrative stock. Tap a row for the full write-up.

Measure the head, ignore the age on the box
Helmet sizing is published in hat sizes, not ages, and this is the whole reason tee ball helmets are hard to buy. Take a tape measure around the head about an inch above the eyebrows, over the widest part at the back. That circumference in inches, divided by pi, gives the hat size the makers print. Or skip the arithmetic and use the circumference against the maker's own chart on the listing.
For context: a typical four-year-old is around a 6 1/4 to 6 1/2 inch hat size, and a typical six-year-old is around 6 1/2 to 6 3/4. Most helmets labelled “youth” start at 6 1/2, which means they do not fit the younger half of a tee ball roster. The full method and table is on the batting helmet size chart.
Which helmets come small enough
| Helmet | Smallest published size | Fits a tee baller? | Listed price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rawlings CoolFlo Max | T-Ball, 6 1/4–6 7/8 in | Yes, including a 4-year-old | $39.99 |
| Rawlings Velo Matte | Junior, 6 3/8–7 1/8 in | Usually, from about 5 | $46.71 |
| Easton Z5 2.0 | Junior, 6 1/2–7 1/8 in | Only the bigger tee ballers | $34.95 |
| Easton Z50 | Small/Medium, 6 1/2–7 1/8 in | Only the bigger tee ballers | $59.99 |
| Rawlings RX2 | Junior (no T-Ball size) | No; this is the next helmet | $54.99–$59.99 |
That table is the honest state of the market. If your tee baller measures under 6 1/2 inches, the choice is essentially the CoolFlo Max T-Ball size, possibly the Velo in Junior. Everything else is a helmet he will fit in a year or two.
What the NOCSAE mark means, and what expires
A batting helmet has to carry the NOCSAE mark, and the relevant standard for a batter's helmet is ND022. Makers state this with varying precision, and the difference is worth knowing when you are choosing between listings.
The five-year certified life matters for hand-me-downs. A helmet from an older sibling's 2019 tee ball season is no longer within its stated certified life, whatever it looks like. The date of manufacture is stamped inside the shell.
Does a tee ball player need a face guard?
No, and this is one of the few places where less gear is the right answer. In tee ball the ball starts stationary on a tee; there is no pitcher and no pitched ball to the face. A cage narrows a four-year-old's view of a ball he is already struggling to hit, and it adds weight to a helmet that is already heavy for him.
The time to add one is when he moves to coach pitch or machine pitch and starts seeing a moving ball. At that point the options split into a full wire face guard and a single-side jaw guard, and the trade-offs are set out on face guard vs jaw guard. The helmets ranked with guards already fitted are on best youth helmets with a face guard.
One practical note: the CoolFlo Max is pre-drilled for the Rawlings RX2 face guard, so buying it for tee ball does not close off adding a guard later. We would not buy a guard now. Note also that the factory-assembled CoolFlo Max with Face Guard was out of stock at Rawlings on 26 September 2026, which is another argument for the bare helmet.
In detail
The picks, in full
Rank 1
Stock photoBest tee ball batting helmet
Rawlings CoolFlo Max (Youth & T-Ball)
Listed at $39.99 and the only helmet here sold in a genuine T-Ball size: Rawlings' CoolFlo tables put it at 6 1/4 to 6 7/8 inch.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Batting helmet |
|---|---|
| Fits | Youth and T-Ball sizes |
| Certification (quoted) | NOCSAE mark: check inside the shell (this listing does not state it; Rawlings states NOCSAE certification on its RX2 listing) |
| Construction | Ventilation across top, sides and rear; moisture-wicking liner |
| Sizes | Youth and T-Ball sizes (maker title); Rawlings' CoolFlo tables: youth 6 1/2–7 1/2 in, T-Ball 6 1/4–6 7/8 in |
| Included | Pre-drilled for Rawlings RX2 adjustable jaw guard or RX2 face guard |
How the 9.3 score breaks down
- Certification (NOCSAE / SEI) (35%)
- 10
- Fit range for the age (25%)
- 10
- Ventilation and comfort (15%)
- 7
- Face-guard compatibility (10%)
- 9
- Value (15%)
- 9
What the spec sheet supports
- A youth-size and a T-Ball size, so a 5-year-old gets a helmet that actually fits
- Pre-drilled for a face guard, so you can add one when the kid moves to kid pitch
- Modest price
Where it falls short
- Basic padding compared with the Mach and RX2
- No face guard included; buy the FG version or add one
Skip this if…
…the league or your kid wants a face guard now; the CoolFlo Max with Face Guard saves the assembly.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Rawlings CoolFlo Max (Youth & T-Ball)
Rank 2
Stock photoBest budget certified helmet
Easton Z5 2.0 Matte Solid
Listed at $34.95, and Easton prints the standard by name (NOCSAE ND022) plus the certified model codes. Junior starts at 6 1/2 inch.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Batting helmet |
|---|---|
| Fits | Junior 6 1/2–7 1/8 in; Senior 7 1/8–7 1/2 in; XL 7 1/2–8 in |
| Certification (quoted) | SEI certified: NOCSAE ND022 newly manufactured baseball/softball batter's helmet (maker) |
| Certification | 'NOCSAE ND022 Newly Manufactured Baseball/Softball Batter's Helmet'; certified item codes BZ5-04JR, BZ504SR, BZ504XL (maker spec) |
| Construction | High-impact-resistant ABS thermoplastic shell; dual-density foam liner; BioDri inner liner; wrapped ear pads (maker) |
| Sizes | Junior 6 1/2–7 1/8 in; Senior 7 1/8–7 1/2 in; XL 7 1/2–8 in (maker spec) |
| Warranty | Certified life five years from date of manufacture under normal play conditions (maker) |
How the 8.8 score breaks down
- Certification (NOCSAE / SEI) (35%)
- 10
- Fit range for the age (25%)
- 8
- Ventilation and comfort (15%)
- 8
- Face-guard compatibility (10%)
- 6
- Value (15%)
- 10
What the spec sheet supports
- Maker prints the standard number and the certified model codes, which almost no listing at this price does
- Three sizes with stated hat-size ranges
Where it falls short
- Junior starts at 6 1/2 in, too big for many 4- and 5-year-olds
- No face guard or jaw guard included, and Easton does not list this shell as jaw-guard compatible
Skip this if…
…your kid measures under 6 1/2 in; the Rawlings CoolFlo Max T-Ball size starts at 6 1/4 in.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Easton Z5 2.0 Matte Solid
Rank 3
Stock photoBest documented sizing
Easton Z50 Matte
Listed at $59.99. Easton publishes an exact hat-size range per shell, which makes buying online safer. Small/Medium is 6 1/2 to 7 1/8 inch.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Batting helmet |
|---|---|
| Fits | Small/Medium 6 1/2–7 1/8, Medium/Large 7–7 5/8, XL 7 1/2–8 1/8 |
| Certification (quoted) | SEI certified: meets NOCSAE standard for all levels of play (maker) |
| Certification | SEI Certification: Meets NOCSAE Standard (maker spec) |
| Construction | Exovent slatted openings; zonal foam padding; BioDri moisture-wicking fabric; game-ready fit with diagonal halo padding |
| Sizes | XL 7 1/2–8 1/8; Medium/Large 7–7 5/8; Small/Medium 6 1/2–7 1/8 (maker spec) |
| Included | Compatible with universal baseball and softball facemasks and the Multi-Adjust jaw guard |
How the 9.2 score breaks down
- Certification (NOCSAE / SEI) (35%)
- 10
- Fit range for the age (25%)
- 9
- Ventilation and comfort (15%)
- 8
- Face-guard compatibility (10%)
- 10
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Maker lists the exact hat-size range per shell size, which makes buying online safer
- Jaw guard and full facemask both compatible
Where it falls short
- Small/Medium starts at 6 1/2; check a 5-year-old's head first
- Guard sold separately unless you buy the MJG version
Skip this if…
…you want the guard included; the Z50 with Jaw Guard is the same helmet assembled.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Easton Z50 Matte
Rank 4
Stock photoBest helmet to grow into
Rawlings RX2 (Junior & Senior)
Listed at $54.99 to $59.99. Rawlings states NOCSAE certification in this listing and the Junior/Senior sizes cover 8 to 18, so it is the next helmet rather than the first.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Batting helmet |
|---|---|
| Fits | Junior and Senior sizes |
| Certification (quoted) | Certified to meet all NOCSAE standards (maker description) |
| Certification | 'Certified to meet all NOCSAE standards' (maker description) |
| Construction | Wrapped jaw pads, moisture-wicking liner, removable forehead sticker |
| Sizes | Junior and Senior (maker title) |
| Included | Pre-drilled screw configuration for RX2 helmet extensions or face guard |
How the 9.2 score breaks down
- Certification (NOCSAE / SEI) (35%)
- 10
- Fit range for the age (25%)
- 9
- Ventilation and comfort (15%)
- 8
- Face-guard compatibility (10%)
- 10
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Two sizes that span the whole youth range
- Matte finish, wrapped jaw pads, pre-drilled for a jaw guard
- Rawlings states the NOCSAE certification in the listing
Where it falls short
- No T-Ball size
- Jaw guard sold separately
Skip this if…
…the kid is under 8; the CoolFlo Max T-Ball size fits.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Rawlings RX2 (Junior & Senior)
Rank 5
Stock photoBest ventilation
Rawlings Velo Matte (Junior & Senior)
Listed at $46.71. Sixteen vents and wrapped jaw pads, but Junior starts at 6 3/8 inch, so check the measurement first.
Spec sheetSourced · not tested by us
| Category | Batting helmet |
|---|---|
| Fits | Junior (6 3/8–7 1/8 in) and Senior (6 7/8–7 5/8 in) |
| Certification (quoted) | NOCSAE mark: check inside the shell (this listing does not state it; Rawlings states NOCSAE certification on its RX2 listing) |
| Construction | 16 individual vents; wrapped jaw pads; Heat Exchange, Coolflo venting |
| Sizes | Junior 6 3/8–7 1/8 in; Senior 6 7/8–7 5/8 in (Rawlings size table listing R16M) |
How the 8.9 score breaks down
- Certification (NOCSAE / SEI) (35%)
- 10
- Fit range for the age (25%)
- 8
- Ventilation and comfort (15%)
- 9
- Face-guard compatibility (10%)
- 8
- Value (15%)
- 8
What the spec sheet supports
- Well vented for summer tournaments
- Two sizes
Where it falls short
- Face guard sold separately
- No T-Ball size
Skip this if…
…you need a face guard included.
#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Rawlings Velo Matte (Junior & Senior)
Before you buy
- Buy his own helmet even if the league lends them. Shared helmets at tee ball age fit nobody and carry everyone's sweat. At $34.95 to $39.99 this is the cheapest piece of the kit.
- Check the mark inside the shell on arrival. Especially where the listing does not print a certification line. No NOCSAE mark, send it back.
- Check the date of manufacture on any hand-me-down. Easton states a five-year certified life; treat that as the rule for any brand.
- Do not buy two sizes up. A loose helmet is the failure mode, not a small one. If he is between sizes, take the smaller shell if it is not tight on the forehead.
- Skip the face guard for tee ball. Add it at coach pitch, when there is a moving ball to guard against.
How we picked these
Gear we claim to have tested: 0
Plenty of sites say they swung every bat on the list in a lab. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: check each bat against the governing bodies' certification rules and the maker's stated stamp; compile sizing from the makers' own age, height and hand charts; read the published specs (drop, barrel, construction, closure, cleat type); and read the complaint patterns in retailer reviews for the “skip it if” line. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not test results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Corrections & updates
- Page published. Size ranges, certification wording, prices and stock read from rawlings.com and easton.rawlings.com on this date; the CoolFlo Max with Face Guard was out of stock and is not ranked.
Questions parents ask
Frequently asked
What size batting helmet does a tee ball player need?
Do tee ball players need a batting helmet?
Does a tee ball helmet need a face guard?
Is a hand-me-down batting helmet safe for tee ball?
How much should a tee ball batting helmet cost?
Keep reading
Related on Bat & Bucket
Receipts
Sources
- Rawlings: CoolFlo Max youth batting helmet (helmet size tables)
- Rawlings: CoolFlo Max batting helmet with face guard
- Easton: Z5 2.0 Matte Solid batting helmet (NOCSAE ND022, size ranges) (read 2026-09-26)
- Easton: Z50 batting helmet (sizes, NOCSAE)
- Rawlings: RX2 batting helmet
- Rawlings: Velo Matte batting helmet
- Rawlings: baseball helmet listing with prices and stock status (read 2026-09-26)
- Easton: baseball helmet listing with prices and stock status (read 2026-09-26)
We don't claim to have swung, worn or tested this gear, and we don't pretend to. Gear we claim to have tested: 0. Certification rules come from the governing bodies' own pages (Little League, USA Baseball, USSSA, NOCSAE), sizes from the makers' sizing charts, and specs from the maker's product page or the retailer listing named on each product. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.